TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Restoration facts, question and answer. > Part Numbers, AMC Parts ID and cross-references
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

rear antenna

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Colin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: rear antenna
    Posted: Nov/11/2021 at 9:58am
I have a 1967 Ambassador convertible it came with 2 rear antenna's the right was mounted high up the quarter panel close to the top opening of the trunk the left was inside the trunk as the car was in an accident and that quarter was replaced. The car has an AM_FM radio and has never had an antenna on the front fender. My though is it was not put back in.   My question was there a rear deck antenna option in 1967 I have all the parts books for 1967 and there is not but there is a Dealer accessories order form on Ebay not dated but is claimed to be from 1967.   It shows you can order front or rear antenna The rear deck antenna part number is 889 0509 gr 15.030 The code on this form is 48058 USA does anyone else have a 1967 amc with factory rear antenna's mine are flush mount with the proper amc bezels
ramblinrev View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ramblinrev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Dec/29/2021 at 8:53pm
Gee, I don't think a rear antenna was a dealer accessory in '67. A 60-61 Ambassador could have a trunk mounted antenna, and that's the only AMC so equipped that I know of.
A '67 with a factory or dealer installed radio would normally have had an antenna installed in the front cowl-not the fender. And it would have been done as part of dealer-prep, not at the factory.