TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC V8 Engine Repair and Modifications
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - New owner of a 68Javelin-Mod questions Maintenance
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

New owner of a 68Javelin-Mod questions Maintenance

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KyleChia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New owner of a 68Javelin-Mod questions Maintenance
    Posted: May/04/2021 at 9:28pm
Hello guys. My names Kyle. Let me start off by saying I am pretty new to car building in general. I've always wanted a project car to work on since I was like 12 and I recently was able to pick up my Grandfather's 1968 Javelin 290 auto. This will be the first car that I plan to do extensive work to. I just want to start by asking about Horsepower gains that I could realistically see achieving with a 290 engine. Id like to get her to something around 300-350. I plan to have her for a long time so I wanna get her to those kinds of numbers eventually. Willing to save and wait. The car has been sitting for quite a while, around 6-8 years or so, in storage for part of that. I believe she is mostly stock. I'd also like some suggestions on what kinds of maintenance and upgrades I can do to keep her in shape. Anyways I appreciate anyone who takes a peek and has any advice on how to care for such a beautiful car. Thumbs Up

Edited by KyleChia - May/04/2021 at 9:53pm
Heavy 488 View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Heavy 488 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May/04/2021 at 9:46pm
Aside from a torquestorm, the horsepower you're looking for is not easily attainable. Then there's the trans