TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC 6 Cylinder Engine Repair and Modifications
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Lots of questions as I consider getting an I6 Ramb
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Lots of questions as I consider getting an I6 Ramb

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MykeNytemare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Lots of questions as I consider getting an I6 Ramb
    Posted: Mar/26/2021 at 4:56pm
Hello everyone,

This is similar to my intro post as I'm a newbie but essentially anyone who has a hopped up I6 I'd be interested in hearing from! 

I am thinking about getting an American/Rambler (likely 66-69) as a daily driver that I can modify/upgrade (modernize) as I go along in the next few years. I only have experience with some Mopar and Ford stuff from this era, and currently am working on a 77 Fiat Spider.

I definitely want the I6 engine for durability and such, but would want to eventually do some work to it for a little more power/torque. I would be interested in doing the 4.0L head and even adding power steering if that is possible, and updating the brakes to disc all around and lower the pedal effort with a modified bore master cylinder or a booster (again, if thats possible). What are the best places (any in Florida) to find AMC engine performance parts? 

The AMC Suspension place, Control Freaks in less than an hour from my house, so I know I can do an IFS and 4-link to help it ride like a new car....but I have no idea if I would be truly better off getting a Falcon or Dart due to the much more apparent aftermarket support.