TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC 6 Cylinder Engine Repair and Modifications
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Gremlin 2.0 no start

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 77grem Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Gremlin 2.0 no start
    Posted: Nov/12/2020 at 4:31pm
Thanks, guys for allowing me on your forum. I just have a quick issue I would like to ask about.  1977 gremlin has 2.0.  It ran before I messed with it but had a miss so I replaced wires, plugs, cap and rotor but when I put back together it will not start.  Does anyone have a pic of how wires should be running out of cap to the plugs I am sorry I am really not a mechanic my son wanted the car and we are playing with it. I know the firing order but not sure how to run wires to plugs.  Also, would anything else stop it from starting?  Any help u could give would be appreciated.  
Heavy 488 View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Heavy 488 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Nov/12/2020 at 7:43pm
Is there spark from the coil wire when you crank?
Is the firing order on the intake manifold?
Maybe like 1-3-2-4?
Only 4 possibilities on the cap. Plug the wires in the listed order following the direction of rotor rotation. If it doesn't start, move them all forward 1 position and try again. Repeat as necessary.
FSJunkie View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FSJunkie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Nov/13/2020 at 2:29am
That's an Audi 2.0 engine...one of the few non-AMC engines that AMC put into their cars. 

1955 Packard
1966 Marlin
1972 Wagoneer