TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Suspension, Steering, Brakes & Wheels
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Strut Rod Bushing Parts- 1 piece

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bruce Clarkson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Strut Rod Bushing Parts- 1 piece
    Posted: Sep/21/2021 at 3:57pm

Quite some time ago on my '67 Ambassador, I redid the front end including new bushings.  I had very short life from the one-piece strut rod bushings and replaced them with a two piece rubber design.  That was many thousand miles ago.  The two-piece design has served me well.

Not too long ago, I got my '68 Ambassador wagon.  I replaced the strut rod bushings with one-piece parts.  I could no longer find a source for the two piece parts.  After way too few miles, the one on the left side is falling apart as shown in the picture.  The left side looks better but is making clunking noises.

Does anyone have a source for the two-piece bushings?  For instance, is there a cross reference for another vehicle?  Any advice on how to get some life out of the one piece bushings?

Also, I have a set of two-piece poly bushings.  They are __so__ stiff.  I've been reluctant to use them.  I'm imagining they put a bunch of twist back on the connection to the frame.  Do they cause the strut rod to flex?  Do they let the suspension travel its normal amount?  Do they drive differently?  Do they make a lot of noise and vibration?

Anything you experienced folks can tell me will be appreciated.

Bruce Clarkson

Bruce Clarkson
POS #1 View Drop Down
AMC Nut
AMC Nut

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote POS #1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Sep/21/2021 at 4:13pm