TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC V8 Engine Repair and Modifications
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Fresh 401, Quest for Oil pressure

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 13>
Author
AMC Nut
AMC Nut

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rang-a-stang Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Fresh 401, Quest for Oil pressure
    Posted: Oct/11/2020 at 8:14pm
OK, Here I go. I am going to post my efforts as I go. I am not an expert engine builder and am happy to take any advice as I go. 
Symptoms:
I have low oil pressure on my freshly rebuilt 401, as read from my factory Jeep electric gauge and a crappy mechanical gauge. I currently have 20W50 Castrol GTX with Motor Honey in it and that gets me to 55psi at cold idle and ~10 at hot idle. Cruising hot I have about 30 psi. I have been fighting with oil pressure since my engine first fired off. I have about 8k miles since rebuild, engine is running pretty good otherwise. 
Configuration:
Stock oiling system, no oil line, supply channel not enlarged. Crank was polished and balanced but was not ground. Clevite 77's on the mains (with the oil channel on half only), rods, and cam. Stock blueprinted rods. Cam is a new comp cam 268H. Lifters are new comp cam 822-16 hydraulic flat tappets. Comp Cams pushrods, Harland Sharp rockers, Comp Cams valve springs. Comp cams non-roller timing chain. Oil pump was blueprinted during the rebuild. Engine builder set my main bearing clearances to .0023 plus or minus 3 and the rods are are .0026. 
Inspection plan:
I pulled my engine but left the oil in it. The oil has 3k miles and is ready for a change but I wanted to leave it black so it would be easier to see if it is leaking anywhere.