TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Body/Interior
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Floor Pans

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tchara Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Floor Pans
    Posted: Feb/27/2022 at 4:29pm
Hi
I'm working on a 1977 Pacer. The floor pans are in pretty bad shape. (see Pic)
I have no sheet metal experience or fabrication tools. Replacement pans are non exsistant for the Pacer. I saw somewhere, that the Gremlin uses the same pans. Does anyone know if this is true.

My other option I am considering is fiberglass. Has anyone used fiberglass for pan repair,  and if so, how was the outcome.  I'm not doing a complete restoration to take to shows. I just want to repair it well enough to drive and maybe go to AMO meets.
Any input would be appreciated.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AqqwG_V2-2fkll-0b55Hinw4GtgQ
bigbad69 View Drop Down
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bigbad69 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/27/2022 at 7:55pm
All AMCs are unit body construction, which means the tub is the frame. Replacing rotten floors with fibreglass weakens the the structure. You need to replace the floors with steel of equal rigidity to maintain the integrity.
69 Javelin SST BBO 390 T10
Trader View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trader Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/28/2022 at 7:01am