TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Fabbing a transmission crossmember

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote danleym Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Fabbing a transmission crossmember
    Posted: Sep/15/2022 at 5:12pm
I dont really have any questions here, I just wanted to share my process for creating a transmission crossmember. I figured some other members may be doing similar work and this might generate sime good discussion. Any input or ideas are welcome- I'm not by any stretch an expert- I'm a self taught/YouTube taught welder with a $100 harbor freight flux core. I'm comfortable with my skills and pretty confident about this project, but I certainly still have more to learn so please share any thoughts.

Back story- I'm putting a T5 behind a 258 in a Spirit. The T5 I'm using uses the "S10" style mount, and that mount is a little further to the rear than the 904 mount was. Repurposing the original mount won't work. 

I considered still using the original bolts, but I didn't like the angles that would be involved- honestly doubting my ability to pull that off cleanly. So I'm going for a fairly simple bar straight across between the frame rails, with a dip in the middle to get the transmission at the proper height, made of 1x2 square tube with 1/8 inch wall. I'm going to plate over the frame rails with some 3/16 flat stock, then run bolts through that to a plate on the end of the crossbar section. 

First bit of work was done today- got the plates rough cut and holes drilled.

Cut and edges ground clean.