TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Electrical - non engine
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Charge Wire

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DragRacingSpirit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Charge Wire
    Posted: Sep/13/2021 at 1:28pm
Ok....i'm not an electrician so I have a question.

On my race car I decided to add a 55 amp alternator for convenience.

I have a 8 gauge wire running directly from the post on the mini alternator straight to the battery.

I figured stranded 8 gauge wire would put me in the range I needed.

I need to protect this circuit and I am guessing a fusible link in about 10 gauge ????? would be appropriate installed in-line close to the battery ?

The battery is one of the new lithium ion car batteries that weigh 7 pounds and from what I hear they can be a huge fire hazard if something gets shorted as they will discharge a large load very fast ??

Saving 40 pounds off the race car is a sizeable amount of weight.
Best 1/4 mile 8.99, 1/8 mile 5.71, 60 foot 1.27, no power adders
304-dude View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 304-dude Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Sep/13/2021 at 1:38pm
Curcuit braker is best, but a simple inline fuse will work.

Being a short run, a fusable link would need to be much smaller gauge than the wire on the output of the alternator. Fusable links operate on internal resistance against the current being drawn by the circuit.
71 Javelin SST body
390 69 crank, 70 block & heads
NASCAR SB2 rods & pistons
78 Jeep TH400 w/ 2.76 Low
50/50 Ford-AMC Suspension
79 F150 rear & 8.8 axles
Ford Racing 3.25 gears & 9" /w Detroit locker