TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC V8 Engine Repair and Modifications
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

401 Advice/Machining

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Keller Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 401 Advice/Machining
    Posted: Jun/12/2022 at 1:23pm
Hi all, and thanks for the add. I've been following this site for some time and have learned a ton of info along the way. Much appreciated! I am new to the AMC world and was fortunate enough to acquire an AMC 401 from a 1976/J20 last summer. The intended use is for street/weekend driver and I was hoping to bring it back to life and restore the hp back to that of the 401's of the early 70's. I have turned it over to a local machine shop and expressed those goals but am losing confidence in the shop. I'm not feeling good about their knowledge about the AMC, turnover has lead to passing the motor around and ultimately creating mass confusion about the goals. My initial goals shared with the shop were to bring the compression back up to the early 70's range of 9:5.1 and hp 300-400 range. They cleaned it up and determined that it would need to be bored to .20/.30 over. I went with .30 due to availability and ordered the Wiseco Pro Tru R/Dome -27cc, Lunati Voodoo Cam (268/276) along with lifters/springs and timing gear set, with hopes of using stock rods, correct sized head gasket, and RPM Air Gap to reach the original goals.

I love to hear your thought's on this build or any advice that you my have to help.