TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

What U joints 1959 American

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MARTINSR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: What U joints 1959 American
    Posted: Jan/14/2015 at 8:49pm
Ok, I am finding some odd stuff when looking for U joints for my American. The one guy I trust is Galvins and they show two different ones, saying you need to pull the ones in the car out and measure it. All for 10 thousands of an inch!

I am not a mechanic but my brother who is said he has never seen something like that. If they are going to be different they will be a lot more than ten thousands.

But anyway, I could care less (other than the bigger ones being three times the price) but I need to knock my car out of commission to find out by removing a U joint and measuring it. I did some other searches and found a Splicer 5-103X that is suppose to be the one and it's just a tad under the 1"! I have an extra drive shaft I pulled a U joint out of and a Yoke.  They both measure about 1.007 not the 1.010 and the Splicer 5-103X is loose in it! 

I want to be able to buy them locally being this car is a daily driver and I don't want have to wait for parts in the mail or I would knock it apart and buy them from Galvins. 

The U joints are loose and it does have a vibration at 45 or so that I am hoping to fix. 

Any ideas for me?

Brian
1959 Rambler American daily driver. And I mean EVERY SINGLE day.
farna View Drop Down
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Moderator Lost Dealership Project