TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

T-10 Grinding Noise

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JLowe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: T-10 Grinding Noise
    Posted: Apr/25/2015 at 9:40pm
Hi all, I am new to AMC's and to the forum, but have followed the site long enough to know that there are lots of helpful and knowledgeable people here. I have just purchased a 1970 Javelin 390 4 speed. With the engine running and the tranny in neutral, there is a slight grinding sound, which goes away when you push the clutch. Is this just another "old car sound" or is there cause for worry? I do know that at some point in it's life there has been a clutch and bushing replacement, but am unsure when. Thanks.
vinny View Drop Down
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vinny Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Apr/25/2015 at 10:33pm
With clutch in transmission stopped and no noise. This shows that the throw out bearing is good. Clutch out gears turn and you get the noise. Could be lots of things inside like bearing between the input and output shaft for one or cluster gear bearings. But I've never had one of those apart. Just GM and Ford 3 spds and a Camaro 4 spd. How about jacking the wheels and running through the gears? What's it like in 4th gear? Linkage set up correctly?
bikerfox View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bikerfox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Apr/25/2015 at 11:13pm