TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Body/Interior
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

SC/Rambler Headliner

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Charter Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 6PakBee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: SC/Rambler Headliner
    Posted: May/18/2016 at 9:30am
The headliner I got with my SC/Rambler has some surface damage.  There are some areas where the cover (skin?) is gone and the fiber is exposed.  There are other areas where it got bent and there is a crease.  Any way to work these out?  It appears to be some kind of pressed fiberboard and I have never worked with that kind of material before. 
Roger Gazur
1969 'B' Scheme SC/Rambler
1970 RWB 4-spd Machine
1970 Sonic Silver auto AMX

All project cars.

Forum Cockroach
SCRAGTOP View Drop Down
AMC Nut
AMC Nut

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SCRAGTOP Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May/18/2016 at 12:15pm
APD had a new "headliner" for Americans on their website. I don't know if they were selling just a "skin" or if it was a one pieces install. I haven't heard much about it.

You would think someone would repop these as they work for several years of Americans.
304-dude View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 304-dude Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May/18/2016 at 12:37pm
I have yet to work on my 71 headliner. Yes the fiber material does seam to crease and fray easily after so many years.