TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Lounge Area > Member Projects
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Resurrecting the Blue 74 Javelin with a 401

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
Author
AMC Nut
AMC Nut

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Javelin74 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Resurrecting the Blue 74 Javelin with a 401
    Posted: Mar/04/2011 at 1:47pm
Well, finally got around to taking the 401 I've been lugging around for the last 10 years to the machine shop today to get the blue car rolling again.  As stuff develops, I'll post some pics and probably throw out some questions for input.  For starters, here's the build plan...  Your 2 cents is appreciated.

Planned specs-
.30 over with Wiseco Pro Tru R-domes (expecting b/t 9.25-9.5 compression)
Stock rods w/ ARP hardware
Indy SR heads w/ extra headbolt holes (probably bowl port)
Torker intake w/ EFI conversion run by Big Stuff 3 ECU for sequential injection (42 lbs injectors???)
Powerdyne supercharger set at 6-7 lbs boost
Hooker super comp headers going to 2.5 dual exh w/ X-pipe
Comp Cams solid roller (276/280- 232/236 at .050 - .560/.580 lift)
Canton RR pan w/ external pickup and internal oil valley line

I think that covers the basics.  I know the compression would make some shake a little bit when added with a supercharger, but having read up on it, I think the centrifugal Powerdyne with aluminum heads, modern R-dome piston shape, and cam should be safe as long as I don't go nuts with too much advance on the timing. 

Thoughts? Comments?  Anybody got a desktop dyno?

It will still run through my TKO Tremec and Ford 9" rear. 

Javelin74 View Drop Down
AMC Nut
AMC Nut