TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Suspension, Steering, Brakes & Wheels
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Rebuilding the Brake System!!!

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Red20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rebuilding the Brake System!!!
    Posted: Nov/02/2014 at 2:23am
I'm working on a '69 Javelin that sat for over 20 years. It's a 4 wheel drum car, and I'm planning to use Scarebird's front disc kit. I'm planning to rebuild all of the hard and flex lines and need to get a good grasp on what other parts I need. I'm no brake expert, but I'd like to think I get the basic concepts.

First, I'll be getting a new booster and disc/drum MC. I'm assuming that the MC will handle the residual pressure for the drums and I won't need a residual pressure valve.

Can I use the pressure differential valve in the engine bay on the passenger side or do I need just a metering valve up front and an adjustable proportioning valve (or stock replacement) in the rear line?

I'm considering buying a huge brake system builder's kit with a bazillion fittings that should cover everything and a ton of hard line. The flex lines I'll get stock replacements for. And the rear drums will have to get completely rebuild.

What am I not thinking about here?
1969 Javelin SST "Screamin' Banana" - Totaled Feb 2018
1973 Hornet Sportabout X "yellajack" - 360/727/TracLoc DAILY DRIVER
TX390AMX View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TX390AMX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Nov/02/2014 at 3:05pm
Red,