TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Rear End Housing

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Nut
AMC Nut

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A.R. Headers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rear End Housing
    Posted: Jan/22/2019 at 6:25pm
Hey Guys,

I'm searching a rear end housing for my 64 Rambler being built for SEMA. I don't know the specifics as I'm new in the AMC world but I'd like to find what's considered the strongest housing from that era. It can be bare. I will install all new internals including axles. I know it's easier to go with a 9" or Dana 60 but I want to keep this hot rod as much AMC as possible.

If anyone can help please email me at nick@americanracingheaders.com. Thank you. 
American Racing Headers
100% Made In USA Since 2005
PROSTOCKTOM View Drop Down
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PROSTOCKTOM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jan/22/2019 at 9:59pm
That would be an AMC 20 rearend. If you are going to use one of those I would suggest that you narrow it to size and use big bearing Ford 9" ends on it. This way you'll have every available option for rear brakes compared to few AMC offering and have  1-pc axles. I understand wanting to use an AMC rearend, but a 9" is hard to ignore.

Tom

motorhead_1 View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote motorhead_1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jan/22/2019 at 10:59pm
the ford 8.8 is a cheap strong option as well. 
planning on SEMA  later this year?