Forum Description: Your latest numbers, events you attended and more
URL: https://theamcforum.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=97757
Printed Date: Mar/28/2024 at 10:52pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: amc 360 rpm to 7k
Posted By: Amc wannabe
Subject: amc 360 rpm to 7k
Date Posted: Dec/20/2018 at 9:09am
What would be the minimum required to spin to a max of 7k safely? Trying to decide on my build direction and need to find my build limitations since I’m new at this. Want to spin it to max 7k to get as much hp as I can without having to move into the car. It’s going In a street/strip 70 javelin 5 speed.

Replies:
Posted By: WesternRed
Date Posted: Dec/21/2018 at 3:08am
I'd say for long term reliability, you probably need forged pistons and rods, but you would be able to turn 7K on factory parts if the valve train is up to it.

-------------
I've finally given up drinking for good...........now I only drink for evil.

Posted By: jpnjim
Date Posted: Dec/21/2018 at 10:53am
Forged rods and a way to keep oil in the pan at all times would be my first two boxes to check off.

I would think a properly prepared (cast) 360 crank would be ok at 7000,
 but I bet the whole thing would appreciate 6500 a lot more.

-------------
71 P-code 4spd Javelin/AMX
some Jeeps and some Fords

Posted By: PROSTOCKTOM
Date Posted: Dec/21/2018 at 8:05pm
I don't think 7,000 rpms correlates as a street/ strip engine. If you truly want an engine that will still be making power at 7,000 rpms it will not be a very streetable combination. Either way you need to plan on spending some serious money for reliability at that rpm level. Nothing can be over looked or skimped on.

Tom

Date Posted: Dec/22/2018 at 6:47am
Tom, the dream is to have it rev to somewhere like 6,500/6,800 and me being a pessimist want to ensure if I I slip up and don’t shift until 7k I’m not gonna be left pushing it.

Date Posted: Dec/22/2018 at 7:40am