Print Page | Close Window

1960 rambler classic 196 smokes on start up

Printed From: TheAMCForum.com
Category: The Garage
Forum Name: AMC 6 Cylinder Engine Repair and Modifications
Forum Description: AMC-made I-6 engine mechanical, ignition and fuel from basic repair to high-perf modifications
URL: https://theamcforum.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=86837
Printed Date: Apr/18/2024 at 5:48am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: 1960 rambler classic 196 smokes on start up
Posted By: 60ramblerclassic
Subject: 1960 rambler classic 196 smokes on start up
Date Posted: Apr/17/2017 at 12:46am
Hey guys. I am pretty new to this, if you haven't guessed by the title. My wife and I have a 1960 rambler that we have owned for 7 years and just love it. Its always smoked a little blue cloud on the start up since we've had it. It was just a weekend cruiser and has just 75,000 miles on it. I have started to drive it a lot more. The engine leaks oil from the valve cover gasket and the timing chain gasket and seems to burn a little oil. I pulled the plugs and number 1 cyl plug was a lil dark but not to crazy. All the other plugs looked good. It runs great once its warmed up.

I haven't done a compression test. My question is, where do I start to fix the issue? Is it possible it is just valve seals? I need some help from people that know where to start and what to do next. I'm mechanically incline enough to fix it, but I need some advice on where to start.

Thanks!

Replies:
Posted By: tomj
Date Posted: Apr/17/2017 at 1:11am
you're likely not gonna like the answer, but its time for a teardown and rebuild. if you have not yet, you absolutely must re-torque the cylinder head. if could the the source of the oily plug, if thats what it is.

when engines leak externally from all over its just age.