Print Page | Close Window

High Compression E85 401 Build

Printed From: TheAMCForum.com
Category: The Garage
Forum Name: AMC V8 Engine Repair and Modifications
Forum Description: AMC-made V8 engine mechanical, ignition and fuel from basic repair to high-perf modifications
URL: https://theamcforum.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=38430
Printed Date: Mar/28/2024 at 11:28am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: High Compression E85 401 Build
Posted By: muttnïk
Subject: High Compression E85 401 Build
Date Posted: Apr/04/2012 at 9:31am
I am just getting started on a 401 E85-only build.  I am looking for more information and experiences from people who have built naturally aspirated high compression engine for use with E85.  Cam selection is one area in particular where I still have questions.  I want to maintain driveability and low end grunt.

Here is an overview of the current plan:
  • 1978 401 Block - 20-thou overbore
  • stock forged crank - 10-thou under
  • stock forged rods
  • forged dome pistons - 13.5:1 static CR
  • 3220502-2 heads - valves unshrouded, mild port work, stock valves, roller rockers
  • I plan to run a flat tappet cam
  • naturally aspirated, MegaSquirt MPI
  • Edelbrock Torker intake
  • ~50lb/hr fuel injectors
  • LC-1 wideband O2 sensor
  • fuel composition sensor
  • Ford EDIS-8 ignition - full ignition timing control by MegaSquirt ECU
  • Doug Thorley Tri-Y headers to 3" single pipe

Truck is a '79 J-Truck used as a tow rig / daily driver.
  • TH400
  • BW-1339
  • 3.54 gears
  • 33" meats
  • 42gal Suburban fuel tank + 18gal stock tank as a reserve with transfer pump

Replies:
Posted By: Javelin74
Date Posted: Apr/04/2012 at 10:15am
Interesting project you got there.  Good luck!  You may need to search around on some other forums for that type of info regarding E85 information.  I'll be following this with a lot of curiousity.

Posted By: billd
Date Posted: Apr/04/2012 at 10:43am