Print Page | Close Window

Distributor

Printed From: TheAMCForum.com
Category: The Garage
Forum Name: AMC V8 Engine Repair and Modifications
Forum Description: AMC-made V8 engine mechanical, ignition and fuel from basic repair to high-perf modifications
URL: https://theamcforum.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=100695
Printed Date: Mar/18/2024 at 11:37pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Distributor
Posted By: V8Mart
Subject: Distributor
Date Posted: Jun/25/2019 at 1:57pm
I am new to the world of AMC and would appreciate some advice on the distributor on my 73, 304 Hornet. When I take off the cap and rotate the shaft by hand it seems to ride up as if trying to unmesh the gears, this does not seem normal to me, am I right?I see no evidence of it riding up when engine running as rotor and cap show no damage . I also believe I may have a problem with the vac advance unit, possibly leaking diaphragm or seized mechanism since the car has been stood for many years...in order to compensate in some way, I notice the previous owner set the timing to around 15 degrees....when I set back to 5, the engine  stumbles on initial throttle opening but runs ok otherwise. Am I looking at getting a new distributor or is it possible to repair what I have?...it looks like the advance unit is not easily detachable from the distributor body. Also, is there a way of adjusting the acc pump mechanism on the 2bbl carb...just in case this is causing my problem.

Replies:
Posted By: BassBoat
Date Posted: Jun/25/2019 at 2:20pm