TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Not shifting into 3rd

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jroland86 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Not shifting into 3rd
    Posted: Aug/16/2018 at 8:19am
I have a 65 Ambassador 990 convertible. Tranny is behind a 327. I just replaced the Modulator/solenoid cause it was leaking there and also hoped it would fix it not shifting into 3rd. But it didn't. It shifts from 1st to 2nd just fine but not 3rd. Any ideas? I checked the governor last night and it looked fine.

Edited by Jroland86 - Aug/16/2018 at 8:41am
rocklandrambler View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rocklandrambler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Aug/16/2018 at 9:15am
Which position are you starting out on?  If you start off in D2 the trans starts in 2nd gear and then shifts to 3rd.  Using D1 will get all 3 gears.
Past AMC's
1974 Hornet X (new)
1975 Gremlin X (new)
1964 Classic 660 Cross Country
1965 American 440-H
Jroland86 View Drop Down
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jroland86 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Aug/16/2018 at 9:18am
It's the flashomatic shift if that helps. So P,R,N,D,2,1. Shifter is on the floor
Jroland86 View Drop Down
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jroland86 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Aug/16/2018 at 9:20am
I've started out in D and it only shifts once into second. I've started in 1, then up to 2, then up to D did not shift after 2nd
amcenthusiast View Drop Down
AMC Addicted