TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC V8 Engine Repair and Modifications
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Newbie here needs advice on recent purchase

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREDMAXX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Newbie here needs advice on recent purchase
    Posted: Feb/01/2019 at 7:08am
Hello all. Newbie here. I recently purchased a 1982 Wagoneer Limited with 160K miles. The previous owner had started replacing a corroded out water pump/timing chain cover. The front of the Wagoneer is disassembled (grill, radiator, fan etc.). Before I started reassembling it, I checked the compression. Two of the cylinders are at 100 while the others are between 135-150. Long story short, I’m afraid the motor is tired. I really want to “restore” the rig back to a running/driving vehicle to enjoy. So my question is, do you suggest removing the present motor and rebuilding it or buying another motor to swap in? Current configuration is a 360 with a 727 tranny and it is 4 wheel drive (not sure if there are any 2 wheel drives). Any serious advice would b greatly appreciated. Thanks - Fred

Edited by FREDMAXX - Apr/18/2019 at 10:31am
Trader View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trader Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/01/2019 at 7:17am
Rebuilding an old running motor is usually always better then pickup up an unknown motor.
A 360 rebuild is not that bad if your looking at a stockish rebuild. 
FREDMAXX View Drop Down
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREDMAXX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/01/2019 at 7:20am