TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Measuring Clutch Housing Shaft Alignment

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 12Gauge Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Measuring Clutch Housing Shaft Alignment
    Posted: Nov/15/2007 at 12:58am
I have been studying the cluch replacement procedure for my 1968 AMX 390.

All seems pretty much straight forward with the exception of the measurement of the clutch housing runout in regards to the bell housing.

The TSM indicates using a Clutch Shaft Aligning Tool J-22056 and a dial indicator set J-8001.

I do have a nice Snap-On clutch alignment tool kit with arbors and such.  I do not know if it will fit the AMX however??  But hopes are high that it will.

ALso, the picture of the special dial indicator set J-8001 is confusing to me.
I do have a dial indicator set with magnetic base and arm.

My questions are as follows....

Will I need the J-22056 alignment tool, or will my Snap-On set work?

Can I use my dial indicator and magnetic base?

What do you guys do to insure the clutch is aligned?

Where do you get the shims btw?  (I do have a slew of front disk caliper shims for the AMX and I suppose they could work in a pinch??

All ears for advice...

Art

Art In Connecticut

Nothing Lasts Forever... If you give it enough TIME

1968 AMX 390 4-Speed

1991 ERA Cobra Replica - 428 & Toploader

2016 Tesla P90D with Ludicrous Mode

2011 Volvo XC60
Menace SS/AMX View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Menace SS/AMX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Nov/15/2007 at 4:43am

Art