TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC V8 Engine Repair and Modifications
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Holley DP Accelerator Pump

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
AMC Nut
AMC Nut

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bandana Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Holley DP Accelerator Pump
    Posted: Jul/28/2017 at 6:50pm
New thread from an old topic on tuning. Last conversations on another thread some guys were telling me about checking and adjusting the accelerator pump, something I've never done before. I watched a U Tube video (of course) today on the process to help me better understand what I was doing. In summary:

- make sure that the spring loaded arm just touches the pump plunger rod at idle with no slack.
  (I'll come back to this one)...

- Adjust the spring compression so that at WOT you can slip a 0.015" feeler gauge between the
  pump plunger rod and the spring loaded rod with "some resistance". When the gauge is pulled out
  the plunger rod should move up the 0.015" it was depressed.

So, does this sound about right? If so I find it full of ambiguity... I will start by saying that my plunger was real tight. The linkage rod was pushing down on the pump plunger so hard I couldn't begin to get a gauge in it until I tightened the spring up a good 1/4". Right now I have it set so I can poke the 0.015" gauge between the two arms. What I find ambiguous with this setting is just how tight the gauge should be??