TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC V8 Engine Repair and Modifications
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Newbie here needs advice on recent purchase

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TX390AMX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/01/2019 at 2:15pm
As to your original post, if the previous owner was replacing the timing cover, make sure it's not one of the OMIX/ADA chinese replacements. These look nice and are cheap enough, but there are lots of horror stories about improperly located distributor drive gears grinding themselves to oblivion in just a few miles. Better off to find a decent used AMC timing cover. Others can chime in on other aftermarket options, but I'd stay away from the OMIX brand.
Terry
68 AMX 390 4 Sp Rally Green
68 AMX 390 4 Sp Matador Red
68 AMX 390 4 Sp Calcutta   
   Russet
56 Chevy Sedan Delivery
2016 Can AM Spyder
55 Chev pickup
FREDMAXX View Drop Down
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREDMAXX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/01/2019 at 8:13pm
Thanks everyone. All great information for sure.

Edited by FREDMAXX - Feb/01/2019 at 8:16pm
one bad rambler View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote one bad rambler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/01/2019 at 10:51pm
Originally posted by 6PakBee 6PakBee wrote:

Originally posted by FREDMAXX FREDMAXX wrote:

So my question is, do you suggest removing the present motor and rebuilding it or buying another motor to swap in?