TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

1955 Nash Missing Packard V8

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 17thielc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1955 Nash Missing Packard V8
    Posted: Mar/27/2018 at 10:15pm
Ok I have a 1955 Nash ambassador custom, and it is missing the engine and transmission. I would like to keep the original torque tube and suspension. There is a 1966 Marlin V8 and transmission for sale near my area, but I don't know if it's compatible. Any info would be greatly appreciated, it is a good body with little rust if any and I would like to keep it AMC. Thank you!
Buzzman72 View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Buzzman72 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Mar/28/2018 at 6:00am
I think you may be in uncharted waters here. Since the engine and Packard UltraMatic are gone, you can only measure and/or guess. If you can get the measurements between where your "NEW" side engine mounts will go and the flange on the torque tube, AND if the transmission-to-torque-tube bolt pattern is the same, you may be OK. I'm guessing the 287/327 Marlin engine will be comparable in dimensions to the old Packard V8, because AMC stuck the similar-dimensioned 250 V8 into the '56 Wasp and Statesman bodies and called them Hornet Specials and Ambassador Specials. Which, IMHO, makes the length of the BW auto [I'm assuming it's an auto] the biggest question mark.

You should be OK, because as I recall, the Hornets and Ambassadors had a longer wheelbase than the Wasps and Statesmen, and the difference was between the firewall and the front wheel.