TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

998 vs 727

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
Author
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Forum Administrator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote billd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/24/2018 at 9:54pm
I've owned many Jeeps, and multiple cars with MOPAR transmissions. They are tough transmissions. Remember, I worked in a shop for several years rebuilding and repairing automatic and other transmissions - actually did my first when I was about 15. MOPAR transmissions aren't junk and I can point to more than one with over 100,000 miles.
An 84 wagon we bought brand new went for over 100,000 miles - the rest of the car was run through the mill by my now ex but the transmission held up (even through my abuse before she got the car in the divorce)
Yes, Eagle had the lockup converter before 84. I know that for a fact and if you need proof, dig through some AMC TSMs............... 82 is a great example, and I have one on my shelf from 81, I believe.
The Eagle case is an AMC case - nothing better than any other 998. The extension housing is different, WAY different, of course, but the main case is basically an AMC designed MOPAR case.
Bane of every AMC? Inferior 998? Then why do they get put in race cars? Why are they a choice for performance? Why do other people want to swap TO them? You seem to be the only one who hates them but you have an intense hatred for AMC and MOPAR anyway, that's obvious.