TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Body/Interior
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

'71 AMX Roof

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WizKid12 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: '71 AMX Roof
    Posted: Feb/10/2018 at 11:56pm
Working on dad's '71 Javelin AMX and the roof appears to be compromised past the point of repair. It's rotted out along the base above the windows. I'm an AMC restoration novice, so what would be the proper steps to fix/replace the roof? Thanks!
hassyfoto View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hassyfoto Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/11/2018 at 4:50am
A roof panel replacement would most likely be your best bet. 

On the other hand, where is the roof rust, just above the rear window? Side window? Windshield?  The location of the rust and extent would be the deciding factor(s) on either the replacement or repair.  Also the experience and talent of the person performing the work is critical. If a body tech with rust experience can complete the repair(s) the cost may be cheaper than finding a roof replacement and the work to perform the repair. 
My recommendation to many folks is to pay a pro for the really difficult repairs and perform your own repairs otherwise. Almost anything is repairable with either time, money or practice. With that said, you can complete your own repair(s) with practice. If you mess something up, you can remove it and redo it again.