TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Torque Tube Parts Needed

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 62ramb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Torque Tube Parts Needed
    Posted: Nov/01/2017 at 7:58pm
Hello everyone! I have a 62 AMC Rambler Ambassador that's giving me a heck of a time. Now it's the driveshaft/torque tube. I'm leaking oil where I shouldn't leaking oil and there's way too much play in the driveshaft. Looking like I need to replace seals and retainer clips - all need to be replaced. Can anyone point me in the right direction to find such replacement parts?
amcenthusiast View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amcenthusiast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Nov/01/2017 at 9:55pm
#1) Get an AMC Technical Service Manual on your car.
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Not 100% sure, but I think all '57 Rambler Rebel, '58-'62 Rambler Rebel/Classic/Ambassador chassis cars use the same 'T-bone' torgue tube set up (...whereas the Ambassador wheelbase from '58-'62 is made longer by extending the distance between the firewall and the front suspension)

Contact your nearest AMC club and you may find your angel there? (SoCal AMC Club? -see American Motors Owner's association (aka 'AMO') on the web also...

Contact Galvin's AMC Rambler Parts (on web) = call Doug or Benjamin on phone -both very kind polite people to become acquainted with... they love to'talk AMC' and sure know their AMC's backwards and forwards wow