TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Torque Converter Question

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fmahannah Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Torque Converter Question
    Posted: Apr/09/2017 at 6:10am
I am replacing the torque converter on my 74 Javelin with a 304/904 with a stock aftermarket one. I have never done this before. I noticed that the old one had a drain plug but the new one does not. My question is do I have to somehow pre-fill the converter with tranny fluid or does the tranny pump it full through the hole in the transmission shaft?

Also, is there anywhere I can get pre-formed transmission cooler lines for the 904 transmission? Mine had been cut and spliced and leak and I want to replace them. Bought a set from inline tube and they are for a 727 and the ends for the transmission side are very different from the ones from the 904. I don't want to have to cut, bend, and flare if I don't have to.

Or is there a flexible type line that will work?

Thanks for any info you can provide
Forrest
74 Javelin AKA Ghost
mixed up View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mixed up Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Apr/09/2017 at 6:36am
you can fill the convertor thru the shaft one or two qt is fine make sure you replace the tran seal a few dollars will save you the head ache later so you don't have to pull the trans when its leaking
69 amx 290 auto
65 220 290 4spd
80 ford fairmont
fmahannah View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted