TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Body/Interior
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

SC/Rambler Headliner

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
AMC Nut
AMC Nut

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote REBEL X Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May/21/2016 at 9:10am
Hi Roger.
I helped a friend install his ABS headliner. I've done auto upholstery for over 45 years so I have some experience with different products.
My overall impression of the headliner is that it is good that someone has attempted to make a decent product for the SC/Rambler. It is a good product ( NOT plug and play ) but does require a fair bit of prep work and three patient people for the final installation. I wish it was thicker and moulded better to conform to the roof.
The roof reinforcing strip of your car should be up against the inside of the roof. Otherwise you will have to build up the inner roof to match the position of the reinforcing strip. We used high density closed cell foam to build up the inner roof surface. Our headliner project used over two quarts of contact cement applied with a glue spray gun. Some people use a cheap spray gun. My opinion is that using spray contact cement in a can won't be as effective and would take at least a dozen cans. $$$$.
The ABS headliner is rather flimsy and requires a good base to glue it to throughout otherwise it will sag where it is not glued.

I commend the people who have taken the initutive to repair or piece together their headliners. They have given some real good information and obviously have good patience and lots of talent.