TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC V8 Engine Repair and Modifications
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Gen 1 parts, Fitment and performance

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8ton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Gen 1 parts, Fitment and performance
    Posted: Feb/22/2017 at 10:55am
Hello all!
I am a new owner of a '56 Nash Ambassador special with the 250 v8. It will mostly be a custom cruiser, but I am a hotrodder at heart, so anytime I have to repair or replace something I feel the need to upgrade. 
It has been hard to find much info on these early mills, and I am new to AMC/Non Ford, so please excuse any dumb questions.
I see that the 250 had 3 power outputs: early 2v:190hp, Late 2v:200hp and 4v:215hp. Was there a compression difference between the early 2v and late 2v/4v? 

The car needs an exhaust, so I am naturally planning a simple dual set up, likely 2.25 or 2.5 with Smithy's mufflers. I have read that the exhaust manifolds for '63-'66 327 cars were revised for better flow. Would these be a direct fit? I know I will have to lift the motor to install, but I will likely be doing that anyways for fitting the Duals and to clean up and repaint the motor.

Will a later 327 4v intake work on the early 250 or does the 250 have smaller ports?

Lastly is there any source or interchange for a cam gear for these motors? I have heard to not trust the old plastic toothed gears, but only see cam gears and chains. 

Thanks!

Buzzman72 View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Buzzman72 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/22/2017 at 1:40pm