TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Competition > Drag Racing
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Front radial suggestions to go with rear MT

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gizmo456 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Front radial suggestions to go with rear MT
    Posted: Nov/19/2016 at 10:18pm
Hi guys and gals,

I'm new to tire selection and I'm trying to select a proper front tire for my procharged 401 Gremlin.

I've settled on the following rear wheels and tires with some tub work and 4 linked rear end.

Weld magnum drag 2.0 15x10 - 3" backspace

325/50/15R or in inches 28/13.50R15
Mickey Thomson ET Street R drag RADIAL (DOT APPROVED)

Weld magnum drag 2.0 15 x 3.5 - 1.75" backspace

My questions is, because I'm running a 28" tall tire in the rear, should I try to match the front for total tire diameter? The only RADIAL tire I have found in the same 28" size is the following

Mickey Thompson sportsman S/R 28"x6"-15.

Now I'm really not partial to this tire but it is the only street radial in a 28" size. The rear ET Street R is actually a true DOT radial so I don't want to mix Bias Ply tires with a rear drag radial. Can I go with a smaller diameter front tire? Maybe a 27"??

Can anyone suggest other front radial tire sizes or options?

blaine H View Drop Down
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote blaine H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Nov/20/2016 at 9:40am