TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Suspension, Steering, Brakes & Wheels
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

front end bushings

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thadmoneous Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: front end bushings
    Posted: Feb/27/2017 at 3:10pm
Hello, I am new to the AMC family. I have a 1966 rambler classic 770 wagon that is all original with a 327 2v carb. I would like to replace all the bushings in the front along with trail arm in the rear with Prothane. My question is, is the classic the same as ambassador and marlin as the "TSM" suggests?
FSJunkie View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FSJunkie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/27/2017 at 3:16pm
Rambler Classic, Marlin, and Ambassador all use the same suspension parts. The springs will be slightly different as is the wheelbase.

Kanter Auto sells whole front suspension rebuild kits. Do not buy your strut rod bushings from O'reilly. They don't fit. I have a thread started in this section all about that headache right now.

I would avoid Polyurethane bushings unless you're willing to completely throw a smooth and quiet ride away to gain a little handling ability.  Handling is more in the springs, shocks, sway bar, and tires than the bushings. I've driven cars with Poly bushings and it's miserable. They squeak like heck and you feel every pebble in the road. That's coming from me, and I daily drive a Jeep on 6-ply Nylon tires.

1955 Packard
1966 Marlin
1972 Wagoneer
1973 Ambassador
1977 Hornet
1982 Concord D/L
1984 Eagle Limited
Thadmoneous View Drop Down
AMC Fan
AMC Fan