TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

flash-o-matic problems

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rdmsbm97 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: flash-o-matic problems
    Posted: Nov/16/2012 at 8:23pm
Hi all, I'm new to the AMC scene. I recently aquired a 1964 Rambler 770 classic 2dr hardtop 327 with the floor shifted flash-o-matic. Car has 48,000 original miles. Car is all original. The problem:   The transmission will not go into gear till you warm it up for at least 10 minutes. When going from park to reverse or drive, there is about a 6 second delay before it goes in. Seems to vibrate bad when going into reverse. Going down the road seems ok, till it goes up a hill, then it slips. The suspected culprit according to the previous owner is the adjustable vacuum modulator/solenoid. Upon inspection I noticed it has been siliconed where the wire goes into the can. It leaks tranny fluid. Tried adjusting it several times turning in and out but with no effect. Changed fluid/cleaned filter.The car shifted fine till the previous owner messed with this modulator. Have done hours of researching on this and stumbled upon this forum. I can't find a replacement. Found a rebuild kit for it, but the company wants $198 for it. What are my alteratives here. Does anyone know where I can find another without ripping my old one apart? Is there something else wrong with the transmission ? I am in Maine and there is little to no help with this problem here. Thanks in advance. Sorry for such a long post.Confused
Sergeant_Fluffy_Duck View Drop Down
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice