TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC V8 Engine Repair and Modifications
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Distributor

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote V8Mart Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Distributor
    Posted: Jun/25/2019 at 1:57pm
I am new to the world of AMC and would appreciate some advice on the distributor on my 73, 304 Hornet. When I take off the cap and rotate the shaft by hand it seems to ride up as if trying to unmesh the gears, this does not seem normal to me, am I right?I see no evidence of it riding up when engine running as rotor and cap show no damage . I also believe I may have a problem with the vac advance unit, possibly leaking diaphragm or seized mechanism since the car has been stood for many years...in order to compensate in some way, I notice the previous owner set the timing to around 15 degrees....when I set back to 5, the engine  stumbles on initial throttle opening but runs ok otherwise. Am I looking at getting a new distributor or is it possible to repair what I have?...it looks like the advance unit is not easily detachable from the distributor body. Also, is there a way of adjusting the acc pump mechanism on the 2bbl carb...just in case this is causing my problem.
BassBoat View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BassBoat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun/25/2019 at 2:20pm