TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Another AMC 20 Question

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fmahannah Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Another AMC 20 Question
    Posted: May/19/2018 at 11:46am
I finally have the rear out of my 74 Javelin and getting ready to convert to a factory twin grip and 3:54 gears. It is currently 3:15's and open diff.

Please excuse my ignorance but this is my first attempt at rebuilding a rear end

Once I cleaned the crud off of everything I can see some things that make me a little nervous. For one thing one of the welds that secure the axle tube seems to have been redone pretty recently with some weld spatter and even a piece of wire still attached. The other side looks old, rusty, and factory.

Which makes me think they might have spun a tube but not sure how they did that with a 304 and 3:15 open diff?

The second thing that bothers me is that when I spin either axle hub and watch the space between the hub and bearing retainer plate I can see the spacing change as if the axle or hub is bent. It is like this on both sides so I am wondering if at some point somebody separated the two piece axles and then put them back together but did not line up the pressed fit splines the way they were originally?

And last but not least .... I know that if you spin one wheel and the other wheels spins opposite it is an open diff.  But if I can also do the following and I am not sure if they would be considered normal?  I was driving this car before I took it apart so I am hoping these things are OK?