TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Suspension, Steering, Brakes & Wheels
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

AMX drum brake question

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cadiac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AMX drum brake question
    Posted: Jul/26/2014 at 4:45pm
I'm just a little new with AMC's outside of 65 "Rambador's", I have 2. I recently I finally bought a 69 AMX. It needs tlc with some things and today I yanked the 4 drums off of it. Someone did a brake job before it was parked. The rear drums aren't to old/10"ers, fronts are 9" and way to THIN. Look dangerous so I'm looking for a pair and may have found some. Listings show the front drums to be 10", these are 9"x 2 1/2". I find the 9" drum listed in places but not under AMX?? I have a 72 Ambo, Will the disc brakes swap over ??? I think thats a dumb question as per the size of the cars but the suspensions seem the same? A good source for a front disc swap? Thanks in advance.
uncljohn View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote uncljohn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jul/26/2014 at 7:01pm
Drum brake AMX's of curse existed.  I can not with out looking things up tell exactly what should be on it but then again that is what TSM's are for and my recommendation to you would be to make that your next purchase so that you have some form of reference material to tell you what should be on it vs what you found.
The car is OLD, no surprise and it is possible some where in the past a set of different drum brakes did indeed get bolted on to the thing because the were available and probably CHEAP and they made it stop.