TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC V8 Engine Repair and Modifications
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

'68 390 Mods

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Blue68SST Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: '68 390 Mods
    Posted: Dec/02/2017 at 9:28am
I am looking for some help in understanding the thinking that went into the building of the 390 in the AMX I bought 2 years ago. The car is an X code 68 AMX that I bought from the widow of the previous owner, so I have very little on the background of the car, other than it was imported to Canada from the US in 1999. He had an extensive collection of American muscle cars, but his was his only AMC.
It runs very well, except for an oil consumption issue that I think is a bad valve seal, so I am not about to mess with it.
The engine appears stock except for an Offenhauser 360 dual quad intake with twin Carter AFB's. The block has the 390 cast on the sides, with a casting # of 3190806, which I believe makes it a 68/69 390 block. There was no valve cover tag on it. It has "log" style manifolds on it, which led me to believe it was a completely stock engine, except for the intake. Upon swapping out the valve coves, I found that the casting number on the heads was 3233344, which upon looking up, seems to be 1979 360 heads. The rockers are bridged, so this appears to be the case.
My question is what are the performance implications for putting 1979 360 heads on a 68/69 390 block? Would this not lower the compression ratio?