TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

65 Classic with bent Axle. Need help.

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DailyDriver770 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 65 Classic with bent Axle. Need help.
    Posted: Nov/01/2015 at 5:15am
I'm new to the AMC world. My driver side rear axle shaft is bent. I'm not looking to replace the whole rear-end. I just need an axle. Can you tell what will work? Will a axle shaft from a ford work? 
Thanks,
Pete.  
FuzzFace2 View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FuzzFace2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Nov/01/2015 at 9:22am
When you say you are not looking to replace the whole rear end (housing?) are you sure it is not bent also?

As far as I know no other makes (ford/dodge/chevy/etc.) axle shaft will inter change with AMC.
I am sure someone that knows more than me on the older AMCs will tell you what other AMCs to look for the needed part.

If that does not pan out I would think like we do for the Javelin/AMX/etc you could go to Moser to make you a set. Then you don't need to worry about the hub spinning on the axle shaft.
Dave ----
TSM = Technical Service Manual

75 Gremlin X v8 for sale
70 Javelin 360/auto drag car
70 Javelin 360/T5 Street car
DailyDriver770 View Drop Down
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DailyDriver770 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Nov/01/2015 at 10:05am
Hi Dave,