TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

62 Rambler Ambassador Shifting Problem

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Soccerpower100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 62 Rambler Ambassador Shifting Problem
    Posted: Jul/12/2016 at 4:00pm
I have a 62 Rambler Ambassador V-8 with Borg Warner Transmission. This has the push button shifter and we can't get it to go into neutral. Any ideas? Thanks!
farna View Drop Down
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Moderator Lost Dealership Project

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote farna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jul/13/2016 at 6:39am
Do the other gear selections work? There is an adjustment for the cable. I don't have a TSM handy though. You need to get a TSM (Technical Service Manual -- the factory service manual) for your car -- has all those little things! You can find them on e-bay for $30-60, depending on seller and condition.
Frank Swygert
Soccerpower100 View Drop Down
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Soccerpower100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jul/13/2016 at 10:50am
We are currently trying to pull the car to where we can work on it and the problem is we can't get it out of park so the wheel locks up making it impossible to tow. The little panel works perfectly but nothing happens when you push any of the buttons. Ok I'll look into a TSM.
farna View Drop Down
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Moderator Lost Dealership Project