TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Competition > Drag Racing
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

360 Kinda Slow?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WhatISit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 360 Kinda Slow?
    Posted: May/28/2018 at 3:03pm
I feel like my Javelin should be a little faster. I'm not very experienced at tuning, so I'm assuming it's a tuning issue. I have a freshly rebuilt (2k miles on the odo) 360 with 9.5:1 compression, Performer intake, Comp Cams Thumpr, Edelbrock Thunder AVS 650, and headers. 3000 RPM stall converter and 3.15 gears. 275/50-15 Nitto drag radials (25.5" tall tires). 

I did a couple "unoffical" GPS tracked 0-60 runs and got 6.98 seconds exactly--twice in a row. It felt like it had more power that was left untapped. Like it wasn't getting enough air and was slow to rev. I know 3.54 or 3.73 gears would remedy much of that, but that's for later. I think this is a timing/carb thing.  

Last I checked, I have about 10 degrees initial timing and I think 36 degrees total. Carb is brand new. All I've done is richen up the mixture a little bit, which seemed to help prior to my 0-60 runs.

Is my 360 a little on the slow side or am I just imagining things... Confused
jpnjim View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jpnjim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May/28/2018 at 3:39pm
That is a little slow coming out of the hole,
could be trying to climb those 3.15's.

The intake and carb combo should be helping your bottom end,
but might not be a great match for the 3k converter.

Converter quality comes in to play too, but I'm not the expert there.