TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

327 to later model AMC trans adapter

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jeepconvert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 327 to later model AMC trans adapter
    Posted: Apr/18/2017 at 3:17pm
This is my first time posting. Currently, I am in the process of swapping a 68 Jeep 327 Vigilante motor into my 1977 Hornet X, and have run into a few problems, though, honestly, far fewer than I had expected.

I began test fitting the motor yesterday, and was pleasantly surprised at the compatibility of the parts, given how much I had heard about the nightmare these "oddball" swaps can be. The stock I6 engine mounts will work with little modification, and the flexplate mounting surface on the 327 happens to sit a very convenient 1/2in farther from the bellhousing mounting surface than it did on the I6, allowing space for a 1/2 inch steel adapter plate between the engine and trans.

The only unresolved issue I have is what to do about the starter. during the test fit, I discovered that the starter for the '77 trans falls exactly where the lowermost bolthole on the arm of the passenger side of the 327 does.

Here is my question: Does anyone have any better ideas what to do about the starter, before I take a sawzall to the side of my very pretty, and very old engine block?
tomj View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tomj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Apr/18/2017 at 11:21pm
wow crazy swap project! ill advised! i approve :-)