TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

1974 automatic transmission install

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paul1683 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1974 automatic transmission install
    Posted: Sep/22/2018 at 11:33pm
Hi All

I'm an extreme novice at putting a 1974 AMC Javelin 360 (base model) back together. I've almost cleaned or replaced all the parts within the engine compartment and drive train. Now it's time to put everything back together. The plan was to insert the engine and transmission as a unit. My problem is that the person that removed everything is no longer in the picture. I have no clue where all of the linkages go (pins, washers, retainers and whatever). Is it possible that there are videos or diagrams to show me where to start? Step by step instructions would be invaluable. Any ideas of where I should start?

I know this is very vague but I just need guidance to let me know what details are needed to give everyone a better idea of what I have.

Some background. I purchased this car in 1974 as a repossession thru an auction. I drove it until 1979 and at that time I placed the car on blocks in my father-in-laws large garage (family started with better places to spend money). It stayed there until last year (2017). The engine needed to be rebuilt (that's done). Some small components needed to be replaced but all in all everything stood the test of time very well. It has 21,000 original miles and is in excellent condition. For 38 years in storage, it looks fabulous. I'm in the process of reinstalling everything but need help with the entire process.

Thanks in advance for any help.