TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Lounge Area > Member Projects
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

1970 Rambler Rebel 4 door Western Australia

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 12>
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote skymit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1970 Rambler Rebel 4 door Western Australia
    Posted: Jan/02/2012 at 7:35am
Gday All,
I'm new to AMC. Didn't even know they sold them in 
Australia until I bought one about a month ago.
Its a 1970 Rambler Rebel 4 door, with a 360 2barrel and an auto column shift.
There is rust in the doors an under the back window, but rest of the car looks pretty solid. I'm looking forward to get my teeth stuck into it. Below is my first adventure. When I figure out how to post pics, I will ad some.

I bought it not running. The old timing cover had corroded out and the previous owner had stripped the front of the engine and never got around to fitting a new cover. 
The car came with a new cover and water pump. 
I pieced it all back together.The new water pump mustn't be correct for this engine as the Harmonic dampener hit it. Had to grind some casting of the water pump to get the clearance.
I then drained the oil, actually it was half water, half oil, and put some new oil in. Then removed the spark plugs and cranked it over to make sure the oil pressure cam up.
Once that was all good, I then hooked up the fuel pump to a jerry can and cranked it over. 
It was just about starting and then the starter motor would come out of mesh. Starter was stuffed.
Fuel pump was also leaking fuel, so I put a drain tray under it 

1 week later I got a new starter, and fired her up.
It idled beautifully for about 20 seconds.