TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Suspension, Steering, Brakes & Wheels
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

1968 AMX Lower Ball Joint Removal

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote webstes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1968 AMX Lower Ball Joint Removal
    Posted: Jun/15/2017 at 9:33pm
I have a  bad lower ball joint on my 68 AMX with the trunion type front suspension.  The AMC manual is not very prescriptive and I haven't been able to find information on the Web.  I have no experience with trunion  type suspensions.  Can I replace the ball joint without removing the front spring and trunion (with the spring and trunion in place)?  
tyrodtom View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tyrodtom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun/15/2017 at 10:15pm
In my 66 American TSM ( same suspension) it says to remove the spring to do any service on the lower control arm, it can't be much clearer than that.

It just wouldn't be safe even if you could think of some way to support the upper control arm,  once you took the lower ball joint loose that lower knuckle would go where?  
66 American SW, 66 American 2dr, 82 J10, 70 Hornet, Pound, Va.
WesternRed View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WesternRed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun/15/2017 at 10:46pm
I've had the lower arms out without removing the springs, I think the upper arms will bottom out on the top of the chassis rail and keep everything in place.
401MATCOUPE View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted