TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 1962 rambler classic wagon won't shift into gear
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

1962 rambler classic wagon won't shift into gear

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TheGoodLife Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1962 rambler classic wagon won't shift into gear
    Posted: Feb/11/2018 at 4:01pm
Hey everyone,

I have a 1962 Rambler Classic Wagon with the aluminum 196. Right now I can't get it to move anywhere because it won't shift into gear (Forwards or backwards). It is the push button automatic transmission. I am not a mechanic, but willing to learn. When I push the button to go into forward, it makes a loud tinny rattling noise and doesn't shift. When I was driving it one day it slipped out of gear and I was unable to get it back into gear, it would only make that noise. Please help and thanks in advance.

Fluid level is normal, but ATF type F fluid was added to what was in there and I am not sure if that is the right fluid since I can't find any ATF type A fluid.

Edited by TheGoodLife - Feb/11/2018 at 4:38pm
farna View Drop Down
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Moderator Lost Dealership Project

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote farna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/12/2018 at 6:23am
You really need a TSM for your car, or for any 58-62 big car (push button shifter). Sounds like either the cable is broke or the shifter out of adjustment, or the link inside the trans has come loose. Don't know if it will come loose from a bad cable or misadjusted shifter -- shouldn't. The link could be broke.